Who was the first capital of India?

In 1772, when Calcutta was announced as the capital of British India, Warren Hastings, the first and most famous of the British governor-general of India moved all important offices from Murshidabad — the former capital of Bengal during Mughal Period — to Calcutta.

What is the second capital of India?

The English rulers considered Nagpur as the centre of India and hence identified this point and constructed the Zero Mile Stone. Being at the center of the country, they also had a plan to make Nagpur the second capital city.

Which city was the capital of India for 1 day?

Allahabad became the capital of the North-Western Provinces in 1858 and was the capital of India for a day.


Allahabad Ilahabad
Country India
State Uttar Pradesh
Division Allahabad
District Allahabad

How was the first capital?

New York City was the first capital of the United States once the Constitution was ratified. George Washington took the oath of office to become the first President of the United States from the balcony of the old City Hall.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How many times has Delhi been destroyed and rebuilt?

Was Bombay the capital of India?

Upon India’s independence in 1947 the city was incorporated into Bombay State. In 1960, following the Samyukta Maharashtra Movement, a new state of Maharashtra was created with Bombay as the capital. Mumbai is the financial, commercial, and the entertainment capital of India.


Mumbai Bombay
Website mumbaicity.gov.in

Which city is capital of two states?

CHANDIGARH, India — Since Chandigarh is the shared capital city of both Punjab and Haryana, two farming states in northern India, many of the state government offices are located there.

Which is capital city of India?

New Delhi, national capital of India. It is situated in the north-central part of the country on the west bank of the Yamuna River, adjacent to and just south of Delhi city (Old Delhi) and within the Delhi national capital territory.

What is the largest city of India?

India: Major Cities

  • New Delhi, India’s capital, is a modern city with a population of more than 7 million people. …
  • Bombay (Mumbai), India’s largest city, has a metropolitan area population of more than 15 million. …
  • Calcutta (Kolkata) is India’s second largest city.

Who found India?

Portuguese explorer Vasco de Gama becomes the first European to reach India via the Atlantic Ocean when he arrives at Calicut on the Malabar Coast. Da Gama sailed from Lisbon, Portugal, in July 1497, rounded the Cape of Good Hope, and anchored at Malindi on the east coast of Africa.

Who changed the capital?

As such British architects, Sir Edwin Lutyens and Sir Herbert Baker took the charge of redesigning the new capital. The new capital was carved out from undivided Punjab province and was named ‘New Delhi’ in 1927. Initially, everyone was hoping that the new capital would be ready within four years.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  You asked: How many hours does it take from India to USA?

How many capital city are there in India?

India has 28 states. There are also 8 union territories. The 28 Indian States and their capitals are as follows.

List of Indian States and Capitals.

States and Their Capitals
States Name Capital Founded Date
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 20 Feb 1987
Assam Dispur 26 Jan 1950
Bihar Patna 26 Jan 1950

How many capitals are there in India?

States and capitals : India now has 28 states and 8 UTs 2021

S.NO State Capital
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
3 Assam Dispur
4 Bihar Patna
5 Chhattisgarh Raipur

Who gave the name Mumbai?

In the mid-1990s, Shiv Sena, the Hindu nationalist party in power in Bombay, decided to change the city’s name to Mumbai, a name often used in local languages that derives from Mumba Devi, the patron Hindu goddess of the island’s original residents, the Koli fishermen.

Which is the capital of Kerala?

The foundation of Delhi was laid at the Coronation Durbar of 1911 by King George V as the Capital of British India. … Shifting of the Capital from Calcutta to Delhi was led by two major factors: Indian Councils Act of 1909. The ongoing crisis caused by the Bengal partition.