When did Warren Hastings became the first Governor General of India?

Complete answer: Warren Hastings(1772-1785): He became governor-general in 1774 he was the last governor of Bengal and became the first governor-general of Bengal.

Who became India’s first governor-general?

The first governor-general in India (of Bengal) was Warren Hastings, the first official governor-general of British India was Lord William Bentinck, and the first governor-general of the Dominion of India was Lord Mountbatten.

In which year Warren Hastings became the ruler of India?

Warren Hastings

The Right Honourable Warren Hastings FRS
In office 20 October 1773 – 8 February 1785
Monarch George III
Preceded by Position created
Succeeded by Sir John Macpherson, Bt As Acting Governor-General

Who was the first governor-general of India in the 1833?

The result of his efforts was the renewal of the East India Company’s government by the Charter Act of 1833, whereby Bentinck became the first governor-general of India.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What does Republic of India mean?

When was the first governor-general appointed?

In India the evolution of the office of governor-general was slightly different. In accordance with the provisions of the Regulating Act of 1773, Warren Hastings became the first governor-general.

Who was Lord Hastings?

Francis Edward Rawdon-Hastings, 1st Marquess of Hastings, KG, PC (9 December 1754 – 28 November 1826), styled The Honourable Francis Rawdon from birth until 1762, Lord Rawdon between 1762 and 1783, The Lord Rawdon from 1783 to 1793 and The Earl of Moira between 1793 and 1816, was an Anglo-Irish politician and military …

Who was the first and last governor-general of India?

Louis Mountbatten, Earl Mountbatten of Burma became governor-general and oversaw the transition of British India to independence. Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878-1972) became the only Indian and last governor-general after independence.

Where was Warren Hastings first?

Hastings’s first appointment was at kasimbazar, a major centre for procuring silk. He was at Kasimbazar in 1756 when Nawab sirajuddaula was provoked to attack and storm Calcutta, rounding up the British at Kasimbazar in the process. On his release Hastings joined the British refugees from Calcutta.

Who is the first dual Governor General of Bengal?

Robert Clive: He was the first governor of Bengal during 1757-60 and again during 1765-67. During his tenure, East India Company won the battle of Plassey and Battle of Buxar which paved the way for Britishers to conquer India. He established dual government in Bengal in 1765, which ended in 1772.

Who became the first Governor of Bengal?

By a letter of 8 May 1771, the Court appointed Warren Hastings to be Governor of Bengal. By Act of Parliament 13 Geo. III., cap. 63, the Presidency of Fort William in Bengal will headed by a Governor-General, and Hastings was appointed as the first Governor-General.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What type of exchange rate system does India have?

Who was the governor general in 1833?

Lord William Bentinck was first to be designated as the Governor general of India in 1833.

Who became the first viceroy of India under the Act of 1858?

Lord Canning became the first Viceroy of India under the Government of India act 1858. He became the first Viceroy and Governor-General of India after the East India Company’s rule over British India ended and the reign came directly under the British monarch.

Who was second Viceroy of India?

Viceroys in India from 1858 to 1947

Viceroy Tenure
Lord Minto II 1905 – 1910
Lord Hardinge II 1910 – 1916
Lord Chelmsford 1916 – 1921
Lord Reading 1921 – 1926

Who was the Governor General of India in the time of revolt of 1857?

Charles John Canning, Earl Canning, also called (1837–59) Viscount Canning of Kilbrahan, (born December 14, 1812, London, England—died June 17, 1862, London), statesman and governor-general of India during the Indian Mutiny of 1857.

Who was the second Prime Minister of India?


BJP (2) INC/INC(I)/INC(R) (6+1 acting) JD (3) JP (1) JP(S) (1) SJP(R) (1)
No Name (Birth–Death) Term of office
1 Jawaharlal Nehru (1889–1964) 2 April 1962
2 Gulzarilal Nanda (1898–1998) 27 May 1964
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri (1904–1966) 9 June 1964