What was the government of India in 1992?

Which government was there in 1992 in India?

Rao ministry

P. V. Narasimha Rao ministry
Head of state R. Venkataraman (until 25 July 1987 – 25 July 1992) Shankar Dayal Sharma (from 25 July 1992)
Head of government P. V. Narasimha Rao
Member party Indian National Congress (Congress alliance)
Status in legislature Minority 256 / 543 (47%)

Who ruled India in 1992?

P V Narasimha Rao of Indian National Congress became the Prime Minister of India from 21 June 1991 till 16 May 1996, after INC won 244 seats, 47 more than previous 9th Lok Sabha.

What was India’s government in 1990?

National Front (1989–1991)

National Front (NF) was a coalition of political parties, led by the Janata Dal, which formed India’s government between 1989 and 1990 under the leadership of N. T. Rama Rao, popularly known as NTR, as President of national front and V. P. Singh as Convener.

Who won 1992 election in India?

Elected President

The Election Commission of India held indirect 10th presidential elections of India on 16 July 1992. Shankar Dayal Sharma with 675,864 votes won over his nearest rival George Gilbert Swell who got 346,485 votes.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Is Indian MBBS valid in Australia?

Who was in government in 1991?

Government. The 43rd New Zealand Parliament continued. Government was The National Party, led by Jim Bolger. National controlled nearly seventy percent of the seats in Parliament.

Who was ruling India in 1996?

The Bharatiya Janata Party, which had won the most seats, formed a short-lived government under Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

1996 Indian general election.

Leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee P. V. Narasimha Rao
Leader’s seat Lucknow Gandhinagar (vacated) Berhampur
Seats won 161 140
Seat change 41 92

Who won Indian election in 1991?

1991 Indian general election

Leader P. V. Narasimha Rao V.P. Singh
Party Indian National Congress JD
Leader’s seat Nandyal Fatehpur
Seats won 244 59
Seat change 47 84

Who was India’s first female president?

Chief Justice of India K. G. Balakrishnan administering the oath of office to new President Pratibha Patil. December 19, 1934, is the 12th President of India. She is the first woman and the first Maharashtrian to hold this post.

Who is the first citizen of India?

The president of India is the head of state of India and the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces. The president is referred to as the first citizen of India.

What is the full name of Narendra Modi?

Narayanan is sworn in as India’s 10th president and the first member of the Dalit caste to hold this office.

Who ruled India in 1989?

V. P. Singh was sworn in as the seventh Prime Minister of India on 2 December 1989.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is the percentage of plateau region in India?

How many seats did BJP won in 1999?

1999 Indian general election

Party BJP Indian National Congress
Alliance NDA Congress alliance
Leader since 16 May 1996 19 March 1998
Leader’s seat Lucknow Amethi
Seats won 182 114