What are the 16 zones of Indian Railways?

What are the 16 zones in India?


  • Northern Railway (NR)
  • North Eastern Railway (NER)
  • Northeast Frontier Railway (NFR, sometimes NEFR)
  • Western Railway (WR)
  • Southern Railway (SR)
  • South Central Railway (SCR)
  • South Eastern Railway (SER)
  • Eastern Railway (ER)

Which is the 17th railway zone in India?

Railway Zones

Zones Headquarters
14 Southern (SR) Chennai
15 West Central (WCR) Jabalpur
16 Western (WR) Mumbai
17 Kolkata Metro Kolkata

How many zones are there in Indian Railways?

Indian Railways divides its operations into zones, which are further sub-divided into divisions, each having a divisional headquarters. There are a total of 18 zones (including Metro Railway, Kolkata) and 70 Divisions on Indian Railway System.

What are the 18 zones of Indian Railways?

Currently (as of 2021) there are 18 Railway zones in India.

​ Additional Information.

Zone HeadQuarter
South Central Railway Secunderabad
South Eastern Railway Garden Reach, Kolkata
South East Central Railway Bilaspur
South Western Railway Hubli
THIS IS INTERESTING:  What are Indian tattoos called?

How many zones are there in India?

Looking at the zonal map of India, you can check that India is divided into six zones namely North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone, Central Zone and North East Zone. All these zones include 28 states and 8 union territories. Each zone is comprised of certain number of states and union territories.

Is Konkan Railway zone of Indian railway?

The Konkan Railway is a subsidiary zone of the Indian Railways. It is one of the 17 zones of the Indian Railways but without any divisional structure unlike other railways zones in India. It is operated by Konkan Railway Corporation, headquartered at CBD Belapur in Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra.

Which is the 18th Railway Zone?

The South Coast Railway zone would be an 18th Railway zone in the country. Currently, India has 17 zones and a total of 73 divisions.

Which is smallest railway zone in India?

The smallest railway zone in India is North East.

Which state has no railway line?

The correct answer is Sikkim. Sikkim is the only Northeastern state which is not connected to a rail network. NH10 is the only road that connects the state with the rest of the country.

Which is largest railway zone in India?

Established in the year 1952, Northern Railways is the largest zone (out of the 16) in terms of kilometres covered (approximately 6807) in India. The headquarters of the Northern Railways zone is at Baroda House, Delhi and New Delhi Railway Station.

How many zones are there in railway?

The Indian Railways’ operations are currently divided into 17 zones, which are further sub-divided into divisions, each having a divisional headquarter. There are a total of 73 divisions at present.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is the holy number of Hindu?

What is the full form of Nair?

The National Academy of Indian Railways (NAIR), Vadodara formerly Railway Staff College is a Centralised civil service , engineering and medical training institute for Civil Service , Engineering and Medical Officers of Indian Railway Personnel Service , Indian Railway Stores Service and Indian Railway Medical Services …

How do you become a DRM?

After serving some 4 to 5 years in SA grade, you will be eligible to get a posting as a Divisional Railway Manager (DRM), depending upon your Annual Appraisal Reports and calibre. It is only a matter of 20 to 25 years of service after that initial IES or Civil Service Exam for you to become a DRM.

What is the salary of DRM in railway?

DRM Salary FAQs

The average DRM salary ranges from approximately $51,931 per year for a General Manager to $51,931 per year for a General Manager. DRM employees rate the overall compensation and benefits package 3.3/5 stars.

Where is Konkan Railway located?

The Konkan Railway (abbreviated KR) is a railway operated by the Konkan Railway Corporation, with its headquarters at CBD Belapur in Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra, India. The first passenger train ran on Konkan railway tracks on 20 March 1993, between Udupi and Mangalore.