Quick Answer: Which country is not a part of Indian subcontinent Class 9?

Maldives. China is not a part of the Indian subcontinent but a neighboring country. A Physiographic region in southern Asia, situated on the Indian Plate and projecting southwards into the Indian Ocean from the Himalayas is known as the Indian subcontinent.

Which country is not part of the Indian subcontinent?

Whether called the Indian subcontinent or South Asia, the definition of the geographical extent of this region varies. Afghanistan, despite often considered as a part of South Asia, is usually not included in the Indian subcontinent.

Which countries make the Indian subcontinent Class 9?

Countries which make the Indian subcontinent are Pakistan in the north-west, India at the core, Nepal in the north, Bhutan in the north-east and Bangladesh in the east. Tropic of Cancer passes through the states of Gujarat, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Tripura and Mizoram.

Which countries were the part of Indian subcontinent?

The Indian subcontinent, consisting variably of India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, and the Maldives, with over 1.7 billion people, is the largest such entity in the world.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What are India's major cities?

What is Indian subcontinent Class 9?

India is often called a subcontinent because it is a distinct landmass, not just a country. … Due to continental drift, India moved north and became part of Asia. India is now joined with the continent of Asia, but is a distinct area separated by the Himalayas.

Why Myanmar is not part of Indian subcontinent?

Ashok Kumar Behuria replies: There is an overlap between the two. However, they are different. Indian subcontinent is a subset of South Asia, as much as both are subsets of the Asian continent. … Till 1936, Burma (now Myanmar) was also part of British India, but was not considered part of the subcontinent.

How many subcontinent are there in India?

The Indian subcontinent consists of 7 countries- India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, and the Maldives. But what if the entire Indian subcontinent was to be contained within a single political boundary?

How many countries are in the subcontinent?

From a political perspective, the Indian subcontinent consists of at least 7 countries: India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and the Maldives.

What is subcontinent Class 9 Ncert?

A subcontinent is part of a larger continent, made up of a number of countries that form a large mass of land. The countries forming the Indian Subcontinent are Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, and Bhutan.

Is Maldives part of Indian subcontinent?

India is not the only part of Indian subcontinent, but other SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) countries – Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh and Maldives – are also a part of the Indian subcontinent. This group, when combined together, form the Indian subcontinent.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Which months does it rain in Chennai?

What is Indian subcontinent?

The Indian subcontinent is a term mainly used for the geographic region surrounded by the Indian Ocean: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The subcontinent was once part of Gondwana, the ancient southern supercontinent.

Which region is known as Indian subcontinent?

Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and India together form the region known as South Asia. Considering the expanse and significance of India in this region, it is also known as the Indian subcontinent.

Why is India called a subcontinent for Class 9?

– India is sometimes referred to as a subcontinent because it is a separate landmass, not just a country. … India migrated north due to continental drift and became a part of Asia. – India is now aligned with the Asian continent, but it is a distinct region divided by the Himalayas.

Is India called a subcontinent?

India is a subcontinent located in South of Asian continent. It is considered a subcontinent because it covers an expansive area of land that includes the Himalayan region in the north, the Gangetic Plain as well as the plateau region in the south.

What is subcontinent name the countries included in Indian subcontinent Class 11?

The Indian subcontinent, consists of India, Bhutan, Maldives, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan.