Is Chennai a district?

Chennai, besides being the capital city of Tamil Nadu is also an important district of the state. … The district is located on the north-east end of Tamil Nadu on the coast of Bay of Bengal.

Is Chennai a district or city?

Chennai district, formerly known as Madras district, is one of the 38 districts in the state of Tamil Nadu, India. It is the smallest and the most densely populated district in the state.

Chennai District
Country India
State Tamil Nadu
Region Chola Nadu
Headquarters Chennai

Which cities comes under Chennai district?

Pages in category “Cities and towns in Chennai district”

  • Adambakkam.
  • Adyar, Chennai.
  • Alandur.
  • Anna Nagar.
  • Ashok Nagar, Chennai.
  • Ayanavaram.

What are the 37 districts in Tamilnadu?

Districts of Tamil Nadu

  • Ariyalur.
  • Chengalpattu.
  • Chennai.
  • Coimbatore.
  • Cuddalore.
  • Dharmapuri.
  • Dindigul.
  • Erode.

Which is the 38 district in Tamilnadu?

Tamil Nadu is a state in Southern India. It’s the most populous state in Southern India. As of 2021, the list of districts in Tamil Nadu is a total of 38 districts in Tamil Nadu.

List of Districts in Tamil Nadu (TN)

Sno 38
District name Virudhunagar
Status code VR
Head Quarters Virudhunagar
Area (sq. km) 4288
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Does Nepal accept Indian currency?

Which district is sholinganallur?

Sholinganallur taluk is a taluk of the city district of Chennai in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. It was created in 2009 by the trifurcation of Tambaram taluk in Kanchipuram district. The centre of the taluk is the neighbourhood of Sholinganallur. The headquarters of is Guindy division.

Is Chennai a southern district?

Chennai is a metropolitan city in the southern region of India.

Is Kanchipuram a district?

Kancheepuram district is one of the 38 districts in the state of Tamil Nadu in India. The area comprising the present day Kancheepuram district was earlier a part of Chingleput district.

How is District in Tamil Nadu?

The Indian state of Tamil Nadu has 38 districts after several splits of the original 13 districts at the formation of the state on 1 November 1956.

List of districts of Tamil Nadu.

Districts of Tamil Nadu
Location Tamil Nadu
Number 38 districts
Populations Perambalur – 565,223 (lowest); Chennai – 7,139,630 (highest)

How many district are in our state?

As of 2021 there are a total of 748 districts, up from the 640 in the 2011 Census of India and the 593 recorded in the 2001 Census of India.


Map key 2
Name of State or Union Territory Arunachal Pradesh
Number of districts 25
Population 1,383,727
Population/district 55,349

Which district is tirupattur in?

Tirupattur or Tirupathur district is one of the 38 districts in the southern Indian state of Tamil Nadu. The district was formed in 2019 by the division of Vellore district into three smaller districts.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How many baggage are allowed in Air India?
Tirupathur District

How many districts are there in Mayiladuthurai?

Mayiladuthurai district is one of the 38 districts of the state of Tamil Nadu in India. The district headquarters is located at Mayiladuthurai.

Mayiladuthurai district
Area rank 37
Elevation 11 m (36 ft)
• Total 918,356

How is district in Karnataka?

The Indian State of Karnataka consists of 31 districts grouped into 4 administrative divisions.