How many physiographic divisions are there in India?

How many physiographic divisions are there?

India is divided into six physiographic divisions on basis of the varied physiographic features: units as follows: Northern and North-eastern Mountain; Northern Plain; Peninsular Plateau; Indian Desert; Coastal Plains; and Islands.

What are the main physiographic divisions of India?

Name the major physical divisions of India.

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The Indian Desert.
  • The Coastal Plains.
  • The Islands.

Which are the physiographic divisions of India Class 10?

They are:

  • Northern mountains.
  • The Northern Great plains.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The coastal plains and Islands.

How many physiographic divisions are there in India Mcq?

Physiographic Division of India MCQ Question 5 Detailed Solution. The Correct Answer is Seven.

Which is the largest physiographic unit of India?

Explanation: Himalayas and Deccan plateau are the largest physiographic units of India.

What are Duns Class 9?

Duns are longitudinal valleys formed as a result of folding when Eurasian plate and Indian plate collided. They are formed between Lesser Himalayas and Shiwaliks. These valleys are deposited with coarse alluvium brought down by Himalayan rivers.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Is NDMC under Delhi government?

How many Division are there in the northern mountain range name them?

4 parts. Northern Himalayas are divided into 4 parts in North-South direction based on the structure and relief. They are (i) Tibetan / Tethys / Trans Himalayas, (ii) Central / Greater Himalayas or Himadri Ranges, (iii) Lesser Himalayas or Himachal Ranges and (iv) Outer / Sub Himalayas or Siwalik Ranges.

What is the meaning of Physiographically?

1. physiography – the study of physical features of the earth’s surface. physical geography. geographics, geography – study of the earth’s surface; includes people’s responses to topography and climate and soil and vegetation.

What is physiography short answer?

The formation and development of the surface of the land like mountains, plateaus, and plains are called physiography.

Why is physiography of India diversified?

The physiography of India is unique and is responsible for development of distinctive features in the sub-continent. … At 23°30′ North, the Tropic of Cancer passes through the centre of India, dividing the country into two equal parts – Northern and Southern India.

What are the physiographic division of India Class 9?

The Physiographic Divisions have 6 major divisions:

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The Indian Desert.
  • The Coastal Plains.
  • The Islands.

How many latitudinal divisions of the Himalayas are there?

Three Parallel Ranges of the Himalayas: Himadri, Himachal and Shiwaliks. The divisions of the Himalayas from west to east are -Punjab Himalayas, Kumaon Himalayas, Nepal Himalayas and Assam Himalayas.

What is length of Himalayas?

The range’s total length is some 1,400 miles (2,300 km), and it has an average elevation of more than 20,000 feet (6,100 metres). The Great Himalayas contain many of the world’s tallest peaks, including (from west to east) Nanga Parbat, Annapurna, Mount Everest, and Kanchenjunga.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Is India rich in oil?

Which is not physiographic division of India?

Therefore, from the above discussion, we may say that the Elevated peninsula region is not a part of the Indian physiographic division.