How many lists are there in Indian Constitution?

It contains three lists; i.e. 1) Union List, 2) State List and 3) Concurrent List.

How many list are there in Constitution?

It contains three lists; i.e. 1) Union List, 2) State List and 3) Concurrent List.

How many laws make a list?

Initially there were 66 items in the list in Schedule Seven to the Constitution of India. The legislative section is divided into three lists: the Union List, the State List and the Concurrent List.

What is Union list and state list?

The three lists have been changed since they first came into being; the Union list contained 97 subjects and now is at 100 subjects, the state list contained 66 subjects but is now at 61 subjects, and concurrent list contained 47 subjects but now has 52 subjects on the concurrent list.

How many concurrent lists are there?

The Concurrent List or List-III (Seventh Schedule) is a list of 52 items (though the last subject is numbered 47) given in the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution of India. It includes the power to be considered by both the union and state government.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How can I go to Kathmandu from India?

What are the three list of Indian Constitution?

It contains three lists; i.e. 1) Union List, 2) State List and 3) Concurrent List.

Is Constitution of India a statute?

India has one of the oldest legal systems in the world. … The fountain source of law in India is the Constitution which, in turn, gives due recognition to statutes, case law and customary law consistent with its dispensations. Statutes are enacted by Parliament, State Legislatures and Union Territory Legislatures.

Who can make law on State List?

(3) Subject to clauses (1) and (2), the Legislature of any State has exclusive power to make laws for such State or any part thereof with respect to any of the matters enumerated in List II in the Seventh Schedule (in this Constitution, referred to as the “State List”).

Where are laws made?

Legislative proposals are brought before either house of the Parliament of India in the form of a bill. A bill is the draft of a legislative proposal, which, when passed by both houses of Parliament and assented to by the President, becomes an act of Parliament.

How many list are there in Union List?

The Union List or List-I is a list of 97 numbered items (after 101st Constitutional amendment act 2016, entry 92 and 92c removed) (the last item is numbered 97) given in Seventh Schedule in the Constitution of India on which Parliament has exclusive power to legislate.

What is Union List Class 8?

The Union List is a list of subjects of national importance. These include national defence, foreign affairs, banking, communications and currency. These subjects are included in this list because there is a need for the formation of a uniform national policy on these issues.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Will an iPhone bought in US work in India?

What is residual list?

Residual list involves the state government alone which is issues like marriage death and other local government bye laws.

How many subjects are there in the residue list?

The state list contains 66 subjects of local or state importance on which the state governments can make laws. The concurrent list contains 47 subjects on which both the Parliament and the state legislatures can make laws. Matters which are not allocated to any of the above three lists are known as residuary subjects.

How many subjects are there in state list at present?

Notes: The State List at present contains 61 subjects (originally 66 subjects) like public order, police, public health and sanitation, agriculture, prisons, local government, fisheries, markets, theaters, gambling and so on.

What are 3 lists of subjects that the constitution has provided to balance the different views on power sharing between the Centre and the state?

In order to maintain balance between the central government and that of the state government, the constitution provided three lists of subjects – a ‘Union List’, with subjects such as taxes, defence and foreign affairs, which would be sole responsibility of the Centre government , a ‘State List’ with subjects such as …