Best answer: How many voters are there in India in 2018?

How many voters are there in India?

Around 912 million people were eligible to vote, and voter turnout was over 67 percent – the highest ever, as well as the highest ever participation by women voters.

Who won election in India 2018?

The election led to a hung assembly, with the Bharatiya Janata Party emerging as the single largest party, with 104 seats, but failing to win a majority of seats and popular votes. The Indian National Congress (INC) won the popular vote.

Who won the 2019 Lok Sabha election?

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA won the elections with the BJP itself winning a clear majority. The BJP became the single largest party in the House and surpassed expectations to win 303 seats, with its alliance partners bringing the NDA to a total of 353 seats.

How is voting in India done?

Members of Lok Sabha (House of the People) or the lower house of India’s Parliament are elected by being voted upon by all adult citizens of India, from a set of candidates who stand in their respective constituencies. Every adult citizen of India can vote only in their constituency.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How many test did India won in Australia?

How many people are employed by the Election Commission?

Election Commission of India

Commission overview
Formed 25 January 1950 (Later celebrated as National Voters’ Day)
Jurisdiction Ministry of Law and Justice, Government of India
Headquarters Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi28.623902°N 77.21140000000003°ECoordinates:28.623902°N 77.21140000000003°E
Employees Around 300

When did Modi become PM?

Narendra Damodardas Modi (born 17 September 1950) is an Indian politician. He is the current Prime Minister of India serving since 2014. He was the 14th Chief Minister of the state of Gujarat. Modi was elected Prime Minister of India in May 2014.

Who is speaker of India?

State Legislative Assemblies

State/UT Speaker Party
Karnataka (list) Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri BJP
Kerala M. B. Rajesh CPI(M)
Madhya Pradesh (list) Girish Gautam BJP
Maharashtra (list) Narhari Sitaram Zirwal (acting) NCP

How many seats BJP won in UP Election 2017?


Party Popular vote Seats
Votes Won
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 34,403,299 312
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) 19,281,340 19
Samajwadi Party (SP) 18,923,769 47

How many states have BJP government in India?

Of the 48 BJP chief ministers, twelve are incumbent — Pema Khandu in Arunachal Pradesh, Himanta Biswa Sarma in Assam, Pramod Sawant in Goa, Bhupendrabhai Patel in Gujarat, Manohar Lal Khattar in Haryana, Jai Ram Thakur in Himachal Pradesh, Basavaraj Bommai in Karnataka, Shivraj Singh Chouhan in Madhya Pradesh, N.

Who has the right to vote in country?

The elections to the House of the People and to the Legislative Assembly of every State shall be on the basis of adult suffrage; that is to say, every person who is a citizen of India and who is not less than twenty-one years eighteen years of age on such date as may be fixed in that behalf by or under any law made by …

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is the position of English as a second language in India?

What is our system of election?

This happened because in our country we follow a special method of elections. Under this system: The entire country is divided into 543 constituencies; Each constituency elects one representative; and The candidate who secures the highest number of votes in that constituency is declared elected.

What all voters together are called?

Residents of a place represented by an elected official are called “constituents”, and those constituents who cast a ballot for their chosen candidate are called “voters”. … In smaller organizations, voting can occur in different ways.